Snake Tracks Field Report for Utsanati for 8-3-12

17 Aug

Utsanati’s field update for 8-3-12.

Sorry it is late–technical difficulties again.

Utsanati resting on the leaf litter.

Today I found Utsanati deep in the forest around 110 feet NE from his last location in the power line access-way.

In this special tracking video–the longest I have ever produced–I show you exactly what I do–mostly uncut–for an entire Timber rattlesnake radio tracking excursion.

Seen in this video:
lots of shots of walking through the woods.
lots of plants.
lots of shots of me eating wild blueberries (aka: buck berries).
lots of sounds of me panting, grunting and groaning as I climb up steep slopes and over logs.
the sound of thunder in the distance.
more vision of me walking through thick bushes and vegetation.
lots of shots of Utsanati the Timber rattlesnake resting on the leaf litter.
shots of me collecting data with my instruments.
commentary by me on the importance of preserving snakes.
an unexpected encounter with other humans in the forest.
more shots of me walking through thick vegetation.
a bit more of commentary by me on the importance of preserving snakes.
the end.
If you are truly interested in learning what I do on a snake hunt then this video is for you.  If you are looking for adventure, excitement (a Jedi craves not these things:-) and a grand musical soundtrack   then look for another video because you will not find it here.  This is just the facts of what I do to help conserve, preserve and understand the beautiful Timber rattlesnake.

Enjoy.

Video and editing by Steve O’Neil

Music by The Steep Canyon Rangers used with written permission.  http://www.steepcanyon.com

Special thanks to Dan Schreiman for the use of the GoPro camera.

One Response to “Snake Tracks Field Report for Utsanati for 8-3-12”

  1. Johann 08/17/2012 at 9:42 am #

    This is great, Steve. My family and I look forward to each new video. Can’t wait to visit you guys again- but it sucks that it won’t be until next summer!!

Leave a Reply

