Potter O. Possum

9 Jun

It is with great sadness that I must report that Potter passed away last night.

Late yesterday afternoon his condition had quickly worsened and he and was rushed to an emergency Veterinary clinic where he was given IV fluids and meds but his injuries were just to severe to save him and he passed away on the table at around 11pm. According to the doctor he may have had internal injuries including swelling of the brain and possibly a bacterial infection that resulted from his battle with his attacker. These internal injuries did not show up at his first exam but developed later.

Potter was a great ambassador for wildlife education. He educated thousands of people on the value and beauty of our native wildlife and nature. He became a celebrity at Earthshine where thousands of children and adults met him and learned about his life and twice he appeared on WLOS TV to help promote nature education events. He showed us that even misunderstood animals like the Opossum have a place in nature and should be respected and admired for their role in the web of life.

Potter, your gentleness and uniqueness will not be forgotten.

Thank you to everyone who donated your time, money and care for Potter after his ordeal and in his final hours.

7 Responses to “Potter O. Possum”

  1. mcrisrivera 06/09/2012 at 11:51 am #

    So sorry for your loss, Steve. He was an amazing ambassador. Peace to you and your Earthshine friends.

  2. Barb 06/12/2012 at 3:23 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear that Potter has passed on . He truely was a great ambassador for all wildlife , specially the Opossum .
    R.I.P dear Potter O. Possum , you will be missed by many !

  3. clarissa Faby 06/13/2012 at 12:10 am #

    I am very sorry about Potter, I released 6 of my 17 possums 3 days ago. I watched your video and him being attacked. I am outside all times of the night checking on my babies to see that they are O.k. I say a prayer to protect them from danger.I know your heart hurts. I lost my pinky the possum on Mothers Day she had MBD. She is in a better place but it dont help your heart from hurting. I love these little guys and I know you loved Potter. God be with them Thanks for the great memory Clarissa Faby

  4. Swtor 07/02/2012 at 10:31 am #

    Hey there! I’ve been following your blog for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

  5. Black Mold Removal 07/03/2012 at 3:45 am #

    We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome weblog!

  6. Ira Luepke 07/04/2012 at 12:14 am #

    Hello there I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  7. Marcell Kneisler 07/06/2012 at 6:29 am #

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage continue your great work, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

